Skip to content

Welcome to UltiTraining

March 11, 2009

Thanks for coming to the site.  I am really excited to be bringing more information on training into the sport of Ultimate Frisbee.  I know there are a lot of players out there that know quite a bit about weight training, plyos, speed drills, and the like; but I think the majority of players could put this type of info to good use.

The game is changing and more players are devoting their off seasons to getting faster and stronger.  I am hoping to provide the right information to help those players improve their performance knowledge and to get those without enough training experience ready to take their game to the next level.

I have a lot planned for posts and interviews, but I wanted to start by taking some requests.  Is there anything that you would like to know more about?  Any experts you would like me to interview?  Let me know if there are topics you have questions about etc.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 6:12 pm

    Looks great Ells. I’m no meat-head, but I like to know that when I do train, I’m doing it safely and effectively. Looking forward to the posts.

  2. sTupac permalink
    March 11, 2009 8:30 pm

    What workouts can you recommend when you can’t just be outside running? Perhaps some good indoor lower body workouts?

    • April 26, 2009 6:00 pm

      Can’t get outside? Try KB swings, ropework, or 1-legged squats. (_Enter the Kettlebell_ or the _Naked Warrior_ FTW)

  3. M.Gibbs permalink
    March 11, 2009 9:09 pm

    So….no job yet I take it? (I’m just jealous I didn’t start this.) And if I had anything to request it would be solid information about training to peak at the proper time. What would the Ultimate athlete’s working-out week look like?

  4. Ben Slade permalink
    March 11, 2009 9:53 pm

    Glad to see there’s another site starting for ultimate-specific training. What’s your fitness training background, out of curiousity? I would be very interested in season planning information (how do you structure a team workout plan so that you peak for the series?) nutrition during tournament weekends, how-to guides for specific exercises (perhaps even with youtube videos to demonstrate proper form?), and plyometric/strength training/fitness exercises that incorporate a disc into the workout so that you can practice fundamentals while tired.

    • March 12, 2009 12:31 pm

      At this point I am a big fitness enthusiast. I have been for a long time, but for the last 6 months I have been digesting a ridiculous amount of training information. Anything that I can get my hands on really. I am in the process of getting a cert from the NSCA. I do currently train a couple “clients” via email. Basically I am helping some close friends get results. I plan to do more of that in the future after I get this blog rolling and a couple other projects.

      I definitely plan to address nutrition, there are already a ton of good videos/articles on good form and I will reference them in discussions. I also plan to post on sport specific training. Great questions.

  5. Jose permalink
    March 11, 2009 10:04 pm

    For an old player like me… I am particularly interested in speed training, hamstrings strength training, training timing (pick performance)…

    Looking forward to the comments and future posts. Great idea Ells!

  6. deucer permalink
    March 11, 2009 11:11 pm

    Fantastic. I hope this site grows up huge.

    A great way to start would be by posting a pre-season spring workout regimen.

  7. Bee permalink
    March 11, 2009 11:39 pm

    I’m excited about this blog. In the past year I’ve had to create workout schedules for a mixed club team and a college women’s team and I had a hard time finding good resources. I’m really looking forward to reading this.

    I’d like to know about speed training during the season. Particularly what distances to be running. We did a lot of speed intervals, but I never knew what distances were most helpful (under 100, 100-200, longer than 300).

  8. Bigley permalink
    March 12, 2009 4:53 am

    Interview the guy that made the Ultimate fitness dvd a few years ago. Brian Woo I believe, ask him about being apart of the Celtics championship.

    • March 13, 2009 3:06 pm

      Bryan Doo, actually. Heard him talk about the fitness DVD (and training for ultimate generally) a couple years ago at the UCPC (Ultimate Coaches and Player’s Conference); guy definitely knows his stuff, pretty well-spoken.

      Especially if you’re looking for a jump-off definition of what it means to be fit for ultimate, he played with DoG I think around the turn of the century and helped revolutionize their training (and, by trickle-down effect, the training of a whole hose of other teams) with more emphasis on agility and explosion, for one.

      I wrote up a summary of his presentation there on my blog if anyone’s interested to check it out; by no means comprehensive but it’ll at least give you an idea of what he advocates.

  9. March 12, 2009 12:21 pm

    Thanks everyone for the great questions. I don’t have the time to get to all of them right away but I am logging all of them and hope to answer them all within the next couple of weeks. A lot of these questions are some of the things that I had questions about when I first started training as well.

  10. AlyS permalink
    March 12, 2009 7:48 pm

    One thing that is very important and often overlooked is the balance between aerobic and anaerobic fitness, and I’ve found in many training programs too much emphasis is put on long runs for improving endurance (which can be very detrimental to ‘ultimate fitness’ if utilized incorrectly). Please try to come up with/share running workouts that address both the high sprint volume of ultimate as well as the repeated game format of tournaments… it’s not all endurance, and it’s not all lifting in the gym, and certification programs (including the NCSA) tend to focus on lifting programs.

    • April 26, 2009 5:51 pm

      I’ve been pursuing certification as an RKC instructor, which has been a challenging yet rewarding journey, as it is one of the few certs where you actually must pass the muster, not just pass a test. One day, maybe I’ll be CK-FMS certified, but that’s probably some years off.

      That said, Kenneth Jay’s Viking Warrior Conditioning or Pavel’s Enter the Kettlebell might be up the hardcore Ulty player’s alley. None of this LSD shiz just for the sake of LSD (long slow distance), ayep.

      RKCs train elite athletes of the world, time for the Ulty community to catch up😀

  11. pooner permalink
    March 24, 2009 2:28 pm

    How bout that air alert III? evaluations from the ulti folks that are doing/have completed the entire 15 weeks.

Leave a Reply

