Skip to content

Shoulder Roundup and Q & A with Mike Robertson

March 24, 2009

Shoulder health is something that a lot of people in ultimate struggle with but there are a lot of resources out there to help with making them stronger.  Eric Cressey and Mike Robertson both know their stuff when it comes to functional anatomy and troubleshooting your pain points.  Below are some articles that they have written in regards to your shoulder health.  After you have a look at the articles, drop a question in the comments section or send me an email at ells At ellsworthy.com, about an injury you may be facing or trying to prevent etc.   Mike Robertson will be doing an interview for us and is looking to answer some tough questions about training with injuries, preventing them, and coming back stronger!  Basically if your body is not functioning like it should be, Mike can most likely give you an answer.  This is a great opportunity to get some of your questions answered.  This is on a first come first serve basis, FYI.

Eric Cressey

Shoulder Savers: Part 1

Shoulder Savers: Part 2

Shoulder Savers: Part 3

Cracking the Rotator Cuff Conundrum

Mike Robertson

Shoulder the Load

Cressey and Robertson

Magnificent Mobility (Great DVD Set)

Inside Out (Great DVD about Upper Body Warmup)

Leave your questions for Mike in the comments or send me an email.  Hope you enjoy the links and are looking forward to the interview.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave permalink
    March 24, 2009 8:54 am

    Great collection of articles. I am gonna print these off later and read them on the bus to uni. Thanks for putting them together.

    Cheers,
    Dave.

  2. Sam permalink
    March 24, 2009 6:17 pm

    OK, I’ll bite.

    I’ve separated my left shoulder many times… while I was in college I had a season where I did it 8 times, now it’s much less frequent (about once a year). It typically occurs in two situations: strong resistance while reaching above or behind me, or a sudden jolt when catching myself with a locked elbow, usually during an awkward fall.

    So what should I be doing to strengthen around the joint? I’d love to be able to lay out on that side of my body without hesitation.

  3. March 26, 2009 1:07 am

    Hey, I didn’t get an impression from your RSD post/ this one whether we were supposed to limit our questions to shoulders.

    If it’s OK, I was hoping Mike could give a brief rundown on training through back and/or knee pain that developed after starting up after a 4-month injury break (ankle fracture). Specifically, what types of pain will improve with focused restrengthening, and which need to be checked out?

  4. Mike permalink
    March 26, 2009 7:00 am

    I got a persistent injury I could use some advice on.

    I’ve had chronic shin splints/micro fractures since I began playing ultimate. It’s been almost 2 full college years (6-7 tournaments in the fall, 4-5 in the spring), and 1 year of club. I’ve had a bone scan that showed up with my shins completely black from the microfractures. The pain is all along the inside of my shin bone, and with more concentrated pain in multiple areas along the shin.

    All the doctors have been telling me is to rest for awhile. I’ve tried staying off them for a few weeks, but they immediately come back after a few weeks of practice and tournaments. Granted, I do play a lot of points, and play a lot of tournaments, but I can’t find out any sort of treatment to help remedy the pain. I’ve just been poppin’ some ibuprofen and playing through it on tournament weekends, but I’m usually struggling to walk on Mondays.

    Any suggestions on ridding myself of this shin pain? Do I risk any long term problems by playing on them currently?

  5. Eric Geile permalink
    March 26, 2009 11:36 am

    Mike,

    I had a pretty bad SLAP tear back in 2004. I had it repaired and returned to full activity, no problems, other than the expected 6 months of PT.

    In the summer of 2007 I started some intensive weight training under the supervision of a certified personal trainer. No problems and I started lifting decent amounts of weight. I ended that program in Nov ’07 and started working out pretty heavy on my own. In Jan ’08, not even knowing what I had done, my shoulder (near the top of the biceps tendon) started to get sore on a regular basis. In addition, I started experiencing pain and tightness in the area of the scapula, as well as the neck and trap on that shoulder’s side. I laid off training for a month and the problem got worse, especially the tightness.

    I went to University of Michigan Medsport in March of 08′ and start what would be a 16 week stint in PT. During that time they taped me, tractioned me, did several different exercise protocols to no avail. They took a MRI arthigram of my shoulder to make sure I did not have another SLAP tear or any rotator damage. They also took a Cervical MRI, thinking that I possibly had some spine dysfunction that was causing/contributing to the problem. Both came back fine.

    After that, Medsport sent me to the UofM spine center where they worked on me for another 6 weeks, mostly spine and back solutions, with no results.

    One of the PT’s at the spine clinic pointed me toward Redcord, which is a suspension training program sometimes used for PT. Luckily a local place, Probility, had the Redcord equipment and I had been there before so I knew someone over there. I spent 8 weeks working with them and again not very many results. I will say, that here, they did suggest my biceps tendon was not running in the right ‘groove’ all the time. The PT ‘put it back’ in the right spot a few times and I would feel better for about a half a day, but they couldn’t figure out a way to make this last.

    Throughout this I have been working with my ART practicioner and she has helped with some of the tightness, but we can’t seem to get rid of the pain in the top of biceps tendon. My neck crackles like a box of Rice Crispies and my Trap area is constanly tight. I am now wearing a shoulder brace, just because I have run out of things to try. It is difficult to sleep and the pain haunts most aspects of my life. If I don’t find something soon, I may go back to my surgeon, although last time he saw me he didn’t think there was anything he could do.

    Sorry about the long email, but that really is the short version….

    Thanks,
    Eric Geile

Leave a Reply

