Skip to content

Program Review: Maximum Strength, Coming Soon

May 4, 2009

Tonight is “Moving Day” for Schwa and myself.  “Moving Day” is the testing day for Eric Cressey’s Maximum Strength Program.  Befor you start the training, you assess your current strength levels on “Packing Day” in the Squat, Deadlift, Bench Press, Broad Jump, and 3-Rep Chin Up.  All of them are test of your 1 rep max, besides the chin up.

Besides the fact that I didn’t feel actually awake today until the mid-afternoon, I am ready to get going.  We have been on this program for 16 weeks, and I started my weight training this winter about 5 weeks before that.  And even before that, I hadn’t been weight training for over a year.  So the gains I have made have been quick and gratifying.

I took some before pictures (hope I can find them..) and I will be taking some after pictures as well to document my progress visually.  I have written a couple posts on the content of the program, describing how I have enjoyed it thoroughly for its variety and results.  Here are my starting numbers:

Bodyweight – 175 lbs

Squat – 345 lbs

Bench – 195 lbs

Deadlift – 395 lbs

3-Rep Chin up – 200 lbs (25+BW)

Broad Jump – 104.5″ (8 ft 8.5 in)

Soooo here we go….

EDIT: Scheduling conflict prevented us from lifting tonight.  We will lift Wednesday May 6th to finish this shit off.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    May 5, 2009 7:09 pm

    Your chinup strength seems low compared to your squat and deadlift

    • May 6, 2009 1:02 am

      Agreed. I have hated pull ups and chin ups for a long time because I am not good at them. Through this program though, I have gotten a lot better, so we will see what happens tomorrow with my chin up total.

      I really like squats and deadlifts, so naturally I got better at those faster.

      • Alan permalink
        May 6, 2009 2:57 pm

        Where are the bench numbers?!?

        I actually did this a couple weeks ago and didn’t do the broad jump due to a heel injury (that doesn’t really effect the squat and deadlift).

        Alls I know is that I had miles and miles of room to improve on my squat…. Hate/love that exercise now, instead of just hating it.

        Good luck with the new numbers tomorrow!

      • May 6, 2009 9:01 pm

        Oh Shit, forgot the Bench number, yeah I was at 195. I will add that to the post.

Trackbacks

  1. Maximum Strength: The Totals « UltiTraining.com

Leave a Reply

