Skip to content

Tracking Training Preparedness

June 17, 2009

Mike Robertson posted about an interesting concept today, tracking Training Preparedness.  Since I started doing it, I have been a big big fan of tracking your progress in the weight room and with any other workouts.  It’s amazing how much easier it is to make progress when you can see exactly where you are at, on paper.

I think it is a good idea to keep logs of track workouts and workouts in the weight room.  Robertson takes this to the next level by recording rating of perceived exertion (RPE) and rating of technique (RT).  These are elements that I have recorded maybe once or twice when I felt really exhausted or barely squeezed out a rep with terrible form, but I like that idea of making this something that you always take down.

Read the article and let me know what you think.  Do you record data from anything that I haven’t mentioned?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 9:48 am

    I can\’t find anything on the internets that points to this with a cursory search, but a good while back I remember reading about keeping a pain index (I thought it was OPI–Orthopedic Pain Index–but a quick google doesn\’t turn up any promising results there).

    Every workout I rate my pain on a scale of 1-5, with 1 being pain-free and 5 being debilitating. Ideally you\’re never pushing it with an index above 3. I found it to be a nice way to track my progress rehabilitating or otherwise working on injury prevention; I remember making a point of noting it when I was working back from some ankle rolls, and though there are workouts you can get through with some mild discomfort it was nice to get down to consistent 1\’s on workouts and exercises that used to be 2\’s or 3\’s. Probably not a bad idea for you, given your recent hammy troubles.

Leave a Reply

