Skip to content

Motivation In The Form of Insanity

August 6, 2009

I really like to read a lot.  I like to read non-fiction mostly.  The majority of the books I read are related to business or learning some type of skill and improving my life.  I rarely read fiction books, but I do read non-fiction stories to get some variety in.  One of my favorites is Ultramarathon Man: Confessions of a Night Runner by Dean Karnazes.  When I was reading this book, all I could think about was training and reading more.  The motivational power of the story is incredible, as Dean documents the ridiculous dedication it takes to run races that most would think are impossible.

When is the last time you thought about running 100 miles?  What about 50 miles?  How ab0ut adding mountains and wilderness?  Maybe, let’s do it in Death Valley where your shoes literally melt on the road.  Anyways, the shit Dean and the other racers put themselves through is crazy.

You can follow Dean’s exploits on his blog at Runner’s World.  He recently ran 2 ultramarathons inside of 3 weeks…  Ridiculous.

He also has a new book (coming) out called 50/50:  Secrets I Learned Running 50 Marathons in 50 Days.  Yes, after he wrote the first book, he decided running a marathon in every state back to back for 50 days, was a good idea.  This book also contains training tips from Dean.  I will be ordering and reading this book, especially after I enjoyed the first edition so much.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 5:33 am

    Have you read _Born to Run_? If not, it’s *must* reading for any athlete who likes to read non-fiction.

    http://bit.ly/born2run

    There are Tarahumara in their 60s who could probably outrace Dean. Read about it🙂

    • August 6, 2009 1:05 pm

      Yes, this looks like a great book. There are a couple other online stories that I will link to later if I can find them again.

      Thanks for the reading suggestion!

  2. August 6, 2009 12:42 pm

    Sold, the book has made the list of ones to read.

  3. August 6, 2009 5:21 pm

    The book has been incredibly popular in the athletic training world, and of course in the more general athlete-who-reads population too🙂

    If you like this sort of thing, also check out http://MovNat.com and this article on the Exuberant Animal:

    http://blog.exuberantanimal.com/?p=319

    I’ve started incorporating a mix of barefoot / VFF and Nike Free 3.0 work into my training program, basically periodization for my feet/calves/movement patterns. Definitely the wave of the future…

    Be strong, move well, and if you’re for it, go train with Pavel next month in MN! http://bit.ly/pavel-hkc

  4. Ivan permalink
    August 7, 2009 8:53 pm

    Dean is a legit runner, but as any other legit runner will tell you the guy’s a hack and attention whore. There are plenty of other guys who go faster and farther than this guy and don’t write stupid books about it and think of themselves as super badass.

    If you want an awesome read about running check out “Once a Runner.”

    • August 10, 2009 7:55 pm

      I didn’t get the attention whore vibe from the book, nor do I really get it from his blog etc. I think it’s just fine to not be the best, and still write about your craft. For instance, there are plenty of people that know more about training than I do.

      Some of those other runners could probably thank Dean for bringing a small bit of attention to their world, because without his book I wouldn’t have known about their world.

      Do you think someone will write an awe-inspiring book about ultimate? My bet is either Hector or Match Diesel, any takers?

  5. May 10, 2013 6:56 am

    Get Rid Of Skin Tags Utilizing The Subsequent Smart Tactics

Trackbacks

  1. Abebe Bikila, Cliff Young, And Born To Run Review « UltiTraining.com

Leave a Reply

