Skip to content

A Time To Spike…

September 30, 2009

I’m a new writer here at UltiTraining, and I wanted to touch on a subject that comes up a lot but always seems to turn into an untouchable region like religion and politics.

After winning Florida Sectionals the weekend before last, I turn to this YouTube video of a compilation of 2007 Club Nationals highlights (posted by jlipp804) to get me amped for South Regionals this coming weekend in Atlanta. As I watch the biggest plays of the year, I can’t help but wander my eyes towards the usually useless YouTube comments as they bring up a solid, misunderstood concept and subject.

Spiking.

Bboyfrisbee commented, “they’re good, its too bad they don’t have any spirit, or respect.” In all fairness, most spikes are not to disrespect other players or to strip Spirit from the game. With the exception of a few commentors, everybody seemed to be ok with spiking in certain situations. The most appropriate situation agreed on, is at Nationals.
 

As mikeruns26 puts it, “…spiking the disc isn’t bad spirit what so ever. It’s celebrating. If you have ever played in a real game that meant something and it was close when you score it’s the best feeling in the world and spiking just makes it that much better.”

I couldn’t have put it better myself. I’m sure there will be a lot of games in the coming weeks, at everyone’s Regionals, that will be more exciting and more intense because of spikes. I’m not sure about other players, but I know the ones I play with are more pumped than the team spiking on us. It’s like a gentleman’s challenge that asks us to do them one better. My point is that there are more important things that are detrimental to Spirit than spiking and if you’re in Sarasota come Nationals 4 day weekend, be sure to see an intense rise in competition as nothing is predictable when Nationals is on the line. The only sure thing is that There Will Be Blood, or spikes. Everyone liking the movie references so far?

Watch the video and tell me what you think…

–>RocaDope.


I know this song gets you pumped, its Ratatat’s Remix of Notorious B.I.G.’s “Party and Bullshit”……

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    September 30, 2009 12:01 pm

    I do not think there is anythign WRONG with spiking as long as it is not done on the other team. No matter how jacked up on adrenaline you are there is no reason why your spike whould be directed towards the player your scored on. I think in these instances spiking is bad, unsportsman-like and takes away from teh game.

    On the other hand when you do score that monster point in the game and spike it-Heck yeah! just don’t taco the disc like a DB. Think of a good creative spike that will make the hecklers laugh and at the same time pump your team.

    Best of luck at regionals y’all

  2. Jeremy Kanter permalink
    September 30, 2009 12:07 pm

    My favorite ultimate highlight video ever.

    I’m all for spiking. I, personally, usually don’t unless it’s especially sweet or important. And of course, don’t spike it on your opponent (see the play at 3:00). That’s a dick move.

  3. September 30, 2009 12:51 pm

    Can’t count the number of times I’ve watched that video. In defense of 3:00, the guy did foul him and pull him down backwards after the catch. Not saying I’d do the same, but. And the first time I saw it, that spike did make me cringe a bit.

  4. UBER_IHUC permalink
    September 30, 2009 12:55 pm

    First- awesome highlight video, might arguably be the best out there.

    Second- I’ll give my two cents like everybody else. Spiking isn’t a black and white subject. It is neither fine nor totally evil. In the end it comes down to personal choice, just as it should in every other sport (spirit of the game DOES NOT mean you can’t spike the disc). Some players in the NFL choose to do goofy touchdown celebrations or spikes to get them pumped up or enjoy the moment. Others calmly hand the ball to the ref. Either way is fine- just pick… and don’t ever spike on to another person or taunt another. That is bad spirit and bad sportsmanship no matter where you play

    • dusty permalink
      October 3, 2009 4:57 am

      The title pretty much says it all – I think it’s finally time that celebrating be banned from youth ultimate. Not only does it contradict the Spirit of the Game, but it is an unneeded part of the sport that doesn’t need to exist.

      I’ve never been a player who celebrates. Much of that is probably attributed to playing for Paideia, a program that historically has not accepted celebrating by teammates. Was it because of our coach, Michael Baccarini? He certainly had influence on us, but he certainly isn’t the only reason. The most important reason: no one on the team thought it was necessary.

      I’ve watched way to many teams celebrate after a score. The majority of celebrations have no malicious intent, but for those that do, it ruins the game for all of us.

      Wherever the celebration is directed (at a person, or not), it still doesn’t do anything for the game. Think about it. What does throwing high fiving teammates, chest bumps, jumping up and down or getting excited really do?

      Players all across the country score dozens of times per season. Why can’t they act like they’ve been there before and are going to get there again?

      Additionally, it’s my hope, and probably the hope of many others across the country, that one day Ultimate will become a sport endorsed by state high school athletic associations and, eventually, the NCAA. In the eyes of athletic associations, celebrating is frowned upon, and could actually put Ultimate at a disadvantage.

      So, you might ask, what would happen if a high school wide receiver were to viciously celebrate on his defender after scoring a touchdown? Well, not only would his team be penalized, he would be kicked out of the game. In most states, a celebration, even if it isn’t directed at anyone, can be penalized.

      Still using football as an example, the NCAA penalizes excessive celebrations in with a 15 yard penalty. What do they consider excessive celebration? “Any delayed, excessive, prolonged or choreographed act by which a player (or players) attempts to focus attention upon himself (or themselves).” The NCAA actually specifies that ”after a score…the player in possession immediately must return the ball to an official or leave it near the dead-ball spot.”

      Further, if the play is ruled as “unsportsmanlike conduct,” the foul can even result in an ejection.

      So, why must youth Ultimate players insist upon celebrating? It’s doing no good now, and certainly isn’t going to do any in the future.

      • Bobo Eyrich permalink
        November 8, 2009 6:19 pm

        How on earth can you remove celebrations from a sport? Sure I’ve scored lots of points in my few years playing ultimate, I started playing when I was 13 and am now 21. When I first played, it was completely recreationally and the games had a relaxed atmosphere because they were not for a competition. Scoring was fun because it was a “hey I scored” moment.

        However, when I wanted to play more competitive ultimate, scoring is much more valuable. Sure, I’ve scored points at Sectionals, Regionals, Canadian Nationals, and other low key tournaments but when you’re playing to win, getting a goal is a big deal. My celebrations and spikes have never been aggressive but have been a release of emotion, an adrenaline ruch from having succesfully out maneuvered the opponent.

        In intramurals and rec games I don’t get as excited because a goal does not mean as much to me as the win does not mean as much. I still play hard but the competitive atmosphere is not there. Consequently, my reactions are deminished. If you expect people to become zombies in the game and not react to the situation I think that you’re going to be facing an impass. I know that it a situation where I get score a break in a final I will most definitely celebrate and chest bump with my teammates. I do not disrespect my opponents by doing so, I respect them for having made it so hard to score. In my view it should be seen as motivation.

        I disagree with agressive spikes (those that are on opponents or in reaction to what they thought was a bad call). These have happened to me and I generally just walk away because fighting and arguing are not in my nature. I understand why people do that, but I disagree with it and therefore won’t do it. However, if somebody skies me or goes horiztonal for a huge play for the point, they have earned that spike. I’ll congratulate them even after the spike because they made a play, credit to them.

  5. Fowler permalink
    September 30, 2009 7:48 pm

    In my eyes spiking is not only acceptable, but encouraged. Like you said, when we get spiked on it increases the intensity and makes good ultimate players, great.

  6. September 30, 2009 7:54 pm

    Spiking can either help or hurt a team. It can be used to pump up the defense and perhaps get another break. On the other hand, it can ruin morale because now you have ‘that guy’ on your team.

  7. Monkeyfetus permalink
    September 30, 2009 9:40 pm

    Spiking is a situational thing in my eyes. It’s impossible to say that spiking is never directed towards the opposing team because I know first hand that I have spiked a disc out of either frustration or anger towards another team. But at the same time I’ve spiked a disc because of how caught up I was in the moment of the play, it wouldn’t have mattered who I was playing.

  8. Hollis permalink
    September 30, 2009 10:13 pm

    Defenders generally mistake a spike as taunting rather than celebration. It sucks that players out there have been dbags and given it that stigma, but I feel that unless you’re actually directing something towards the defender after you score, you’re not taunting.

  9. Footapotimus permalink
    October 1, 2009 5:08 am

    I love spiking. But it can rally the other team into winning….example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q63xjbgQSkM

  10. scotty permalink
    October 1, 2009 12:03 pm

    the only problem i have with spiking is that there are people in this world that do not know how to spike and end up warping the disc…now you look like the biggest jackass and idiot on the field. on the field, all that matters is MY game. i use taunts to simply play harder. so spike it all you want, it’ll just be that much more sweeter when i tool u on the next point.

    the celebration i hate the most though is when the person just simply rockets the disc straight up about 30 yards…one day, i hope that disc returns to slam right into your head and give you a concussion.

  11. Cavi permalink
    October 1, 2009 2:51 pm

    Spiking can go either way. So long as it’s not directly RIGHT at the opponent you scored on OR you aren’t completely dominating and rubbing it in the other teams face… then I don’t feel it’s a problem. A lot of the time it is a form of celebration and since when do we want Ultimate to be boring because we’re afraid to hurt the other teams feelings😦 And if spiking pisses you off personally, when someone on the other team does it, tool them the next point. All in all I feel like it just brings the intensity of the game up for both teams, which will just make for better play throughout.

  12. October 1, 2009 3:02 pm

    Creativity goes a long way.

  13. Fowler permalink
    October 1, 2009 3:17 pm

    All the talk about warping discs is silly. God forbid you have to pull another one of your ten Discrafts for the game. Everyone acts like discs are a scarcity. The next time I score in a big game, I’m going spike the disc on the ground and set it on fire.

    • Will permalink
      October 22, 2009 5:32 pm

      This is just ridiculous. I’m not popping £7 on a new disc every time someone scores. People would just stop allowing the use of their discs and then clubs have to foot the bill for every disc.

      Furthermore, if there’s no problem with warping, hey, let’s spike and taco a disc after every score. 30 discs a game sounds fun.

      You want to warp people’s discs? That’s fine but you best be handing out yours.

      Having said that, the pure awesomeness of pulling out a blowtorch on pitch would make me laugh too much to do anything about it.

    • Hater permalink
      October 25, 2009 5:05 pm

      I really, really, really hope you get that on video.

  14. rocadope permalink
    October 2, 2009 6:03 am

    I might use that at Regionals this weekend Fowler… just gotta find a blowtorch.

  15. UCF C0ckfest permalink
    October 2, 2009 8:59 pm

    ALL THIS UCF LOVE IS TOO MUCH! KEVIN SMITH, MIKE SIMS-WALKER, ASSANTE SAMUEL

  16. Bango permalink
    October 15, 2009 4:23 pm

    I’m usually all business when I score, set the disc at the line and act like you’ve been there before. But if the situation calls for a spike, such as a close game nearing its end, it should be seen as an expression of the intensity your team has and how much they love the spirit of competition. A spike that is not directed at a player shouldn’t be seen as individual douchebaggery. Like many of you have already stated, it’s letting the other team know that at that particular point of the game you have their number, and that you can’t wait for what the next point brings.

  17. Willametty permalink
    October 29, 2009 9:17 pm

    Perhaps I’m alone in this, but what bothers me far more than a taco’d disc or a spike in someone’s direction is when the player has to go out of their way to do it. Make a sick layout grab in the back corner, pop off your feet and hurdle the disc at the front line as you let loose an adrenaline fed roar? Go up huge, sky your D, and jog to your sideline while waving the disc in the air? No problem. Grab a disc in front of a bidding defender and have your momentum carry you out of bounds, then make a 40 yard sprint from the sideline over to your opponents so you can spike it at their feet? Stand over your opponent on the ground while he’s recovering, and wait for him to look up at you before turfing the plastic? GTFO. If you’ve got to reposition yourself so your spike has a bigger DB factor to it, perhaps it’s time to reconsider your ingenious plan.

  18. October 10, 2014 1:11 am

    obviously like your web site however you have to check the spelling on several of
    your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very troublesome
    to inform the truth nevertheless I’ll certainly come back
    again.

Leave a Reply

